Magnetosphere, Ionosphere and Solar-Terrestrial

Latest news

MIST recognised in 2018 RAS awards

MIST Council would like to congratulate those who have been recognised for contributions to the field by the Royal Astronomical Society recently, but particularly we would like to congratulate those members of the MIST community who are to be honoured at the next National Astronomy Meeting.

Emma Bunce has won the Chapman Medal for outstanding contributions to the understanding of the magnetospheres of gas giants, Matt Taylor has won the Service Award for his exceptional work in co-ordinating and contributing to ESA's Rosetta mission, and Jim Wild has been awarded the James Dungey lectureship for his excellent and highly relevant work on substorms and reconnection in the magnetotail. We would also like to congratulate Kerri Donaldson Hanna for winning the Winton Award for planetary science.

MIST Council applauds each of the winners, alongside the other academics who will be recognised in Liverpool this spring!

More details are available at the RAS website.

New MIST councillors in 2017

Congratulations to Jasmine Sandhu and Jonny Rae, both at MSSL, who have been elected (and, in Jonny’s case, re-elected) to MIST Council. They join Ian McCrea (Chair - RAL), Sarah Badman (Lancaster), Luke Barnard (Reading) and John Coxon (Southampton), all of whom continue in their posts.

Read more ...

Rishbeth Prizes 2017

Congratulations to Jade Reidy (University of Southampton) and Mervyn Freeman (British Antarctic Survey) for winning this year's Rishbeth prizes for their presentations at the National Astronomy Meeting at the University of Hull this July.

Read more ...

Nigel Wade

Nigel Wade
Nigel Wade - University of Leicester

It is with deep sadness that we have to inform the MIST community of the untimely death after a short illness of Nigel Wade who worked in the Radio and Space Plasma Physics (RSPP) group at Leicester for over 30 years.

Read more ...

New Members of MIST Council

After a hard-fought campaign by the five candidates, the results of the MIST Council elections are now in!

Read more ...

Past Co-ordinators and Council Members

The MIST community is grateful for the efforts of past MIST co-ordinators and council members.

MIST Co-ordinators

1970-1983 MIST meetings 1-28 P. C. Kendall
1970-1988 MIST meetings 1-42 H. Rishbeth
1988-1995 MIST meetings 43-60 M. Lester
1995-2005 MIST meetings 61-98 A. J. Smith
2005-2007 MIST meetings 99-104 N. F. Arnold

MIST Council members

*Re-elected     +Chair
1st MIST Council 2007-2008 MIST meetings 105-107 G. A. Abel C. S. Arridge M. A. Hapgood+ A. J. Kavanagh B. S. Lanchester
2nd MIST Council 2008-2009 MIST meetings 108-109 G. A. Abel G. Provan M. A. Hapgood+ A. J. Kavanagh B. S. Lanchester
3rd MIST Council 2009-2010 MIST meetings 110-115 C. Forsyth G. Provan M. A. Hapgood+ A. J. Kavanagh B. S. Lanchester
4th MIST Council 2010-2011 MIST meetings 116-120 C. Forsyth G. Provan M. A. Hapgood+ M. P. Freeman D. J. Southwood
5th MIST Council 2011-2012 MIST meetings 121-123 C. Forsyth R. C. Fear M. A. Hapgood+* M. P. Freeman D. J. Southwood
6th MIST Council 2012-2013 MIST meetings 124-127 M. M. Bisi R. C. Fear M. A. Hapgood+ E. E. Woodfield D. J. Southwood
7th MIST Council 2013-2014 MIST meetings 128- M. M. Bisi R. C. Fear M. A. Hapgood+ E. E. Woodfield I. W. McCrea
8th MIST Council 2014-2015 MIST meetings - M. M. Bisi R. C. Fear* I. J. Rae E. E. Woodfield I. W. McCrea+