Magnetosphere, Ionosphere and Solar-Terrestrial

Latest news

MIST recognised in 2018 RAS awards

MIST Council would like to congratulate those who have been recognised for contributions to the field by the Royal Astronomical Society recently, but particularly we would like to congratulate those members of the MIST community who are to be honoured at the next National Astronomy Meeting.

Emma Bunce has won the Chapman Medal for outstanding contributions to the understanding of the magnetospheres of gas giants, Matt Taylor has won the Service Award for his exceptional work in co-ordinating and contributing to ESA's Rosetta mission, and Jim Wild has been awarded the James Dungey lectureship for his excellent and highly relevant work on substorms and reconnection in the magnetotail. We would also like to congratulate Kerri Donaldson Hanna for winning the Winton Award for planetary science.

MIST Council applauds each of the winners, alongside the other academics who will be recognised in Liverpool this spring!

More details are available at the RAS website.

New MIST councillors in 2017

Congratulations to Jasmine Sandhu and Jonny Rae, both at MSSL, who have been elected (and, in Jonny’s case, re-elected) to MIST Council. They join Ian McCrea (Chair - RAL), Sarah Badman (Lancaster), Luke Barnard (Reading) and John Coxon (Southampton), all of whom continue in their posts.

Read more ...

Rishbeth Prizes 2017

Congratulations to Jade Reidy (University of Southampton) and Mervyn Freeman (British Antarctic Survey) for winning this year's Rishbeth prizes for their presentations at the National Astronomy Meeting at the University of Hull this July.

Read more ...

Nigel Wade

Nigel Wade
Nigel Wade - University of Leicester

It is with deep sadness that we have to inform the MIST community of the untimely death after a short illness of Nigel Wade who worked in the Radio and Space Plasma Physics (RSPP) group at Leicester for over 30 years.

Read more ...

New Members of MIST Council

After a hard-fought campaign by the five candidates, the results of the MIST Council elections are now in!

Read more ...

Abstract submissions for Autumn MIST are now open

Autumn MIST will be held at the Royal Astronomical Society, Burlington House, London, on Friday 24 November 2017. The meeting will start at 10:30 am and will include a poster session and oral sessions.

Contributions are welcome from all areas of MIST science, but the first session will be themed "The grand finale and the new beginning: Results from Cassini and Juno", and Professor Emma Bunce will be giving an invited talk on this topic to start the day. Therefore, abstracts on this theme are particularly welcome. Those wishing to present at the meeting should submit an abstract by completing the abstract submission form before before the end of Monday 30 October.

If you have any problems with submitting your abstract or questions about the process, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. The programme will be confirmed and notifications sent to authors by Friday 3 November.

As with last year, the RAS will be charging us for refreshments, and it will be necessary to charge a registration fee of £10 (£5 for students). We will provide receipts, to allow you to claim with the rest of your travel expenses, but please make sure you bring the registration fee in cash on the day.

Although the meeting will start at 10:30, we will have access to the Council Room from 10am. Teas and coffees will be provided from 10:00 - 10:30 and during the poster session.