Magnetosphere, Ionosphere and Solar-Terrestrial

Latest news

MIST recognised in 2018 RAS awards

MIST Council would like to congratulate those who have been recognised for contributions to the field by the Royal Astronomical Society recently, but particularly we would like to congratulate those members of the MIST community who are to be honoured at the next National Astronomy Meeting.

Emma Bunce has won the Chapman Medal for outstanding contributions to the understanding of the magnetospheres of gas giants, Matt Taylor has won the Service Award for his exceptional work in co-ordinating and contributing to ESA's Rosetta mission, and Jim Wild has been awarded the James Dungey lectureship for his excellent and highly relevant work on substorms and reconnection in the magnetotail. We would also like to congratulate Kerri Donaldson Hanna for winning the Winton Award for planetary science.

MIST Council applauds each of the winners, alongside the other academics who will be recognised in Liverpool this spring!

More details are available at the RAS website.

New MIST councillors in 2017

Congratulations to Jasmine Sandhu and Jonny Rae, both at MSSL, who have been elected (and, in Jonny’s case, re-elected) to MIST Council. They join Ian McCrea (Chair - RAL), Sarah Badman (Lancaster), Luke Barnard (Reading) and John Coxon (Southampton), all of whom continue in their posts.

Read more ...

Rishbeth Prizes 2017

Congratulations to Jade Reidy (University of Southampton) and Mervyn Freeman (British Antarctic Survey) for winning this year's Rishbeth prizes for their presentations at the National Astronomy Meeting at the University of Hull this July.

Read more ...

Nigel Wade

Nigel Wade
Nigel Wade - University of Leicester

It is with deep sadness that we have to inform the MIST community of the untimely death after a short illness of Nigel Wade who worked in the Radio and Space Plasma Physics (RSPP) group at Leicester for over 30 years.

Read more ...

New Members of MIST Council

After a hard-fought campaign by the five candidates, the results of the MIST Council elections are now in!

Read more ...

MIST Council nominations are now open!

We would like to invite nominations for members of MIST Council. There are two positions available and elected candidates would join Ian McCrea, Sarah Badman, Jonny Rae, and Jasmine Sandhu as councillors for a three year term.

It is important that the council is representative of our community and all members (research scientists, academic staff, students, postdocs, etc.) are eligible to stand. If you would like to find out more about what is involved please get in touch with a member of the council or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

If you would like to stand for election or you are nominating someone else (with their agreement) please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by Friday 18 May. If there are more than two nominations we will carry out an online vote as in previous years. Please include a brief introduction with your nomination, in the form of ~100-150 words on your research interests and motivation for standing for Council, that can be circulated to the MIST list and posted online.

We look forward to welcoming the elected members onto the council!