Magnetosphere, Ionosphere and Solar-Terrestrial

Latest news

MIST recognised in 2018 RAS awards

MIST Council would like to congratulate those who have been recognised for contributions to the field by the Royal Astronomical Society recently, but particularly we would like to congratulate those members of the MIST community who are to be honoured at the next National Astronomy Meeting.

Emma Bunce has won the Chapman Medal for outstanding contributions to the understanding of the magnetospheres of gas giants, Matt Taylor has won the Service Award for his exceptional work in co-ordinating and contributing to ESA's Rosetta mission, and Jim Wild has been awarded the James Dungey lectureship for his excellent and highly relevant work on substorms and reconnection in the magnetotail. We would also like to congratulate Kerri Donaldson Hanna for winning the Winton Award for planetary science.

MIST Council applauds each of the winners, alongside the other academics who will be recognised in Liverpool this spring!

More details are available at the RAS website.

New MIST councillors in 2017

Congratulations to Jasmine Sandhu and Jonny Rae, both at MSSL, who have been elected (and, in Jonny’s case, re-elected) to MIST Council. They join Ian McCrea (Chair - RAL), Sarah Badman (Lancaster), Luke Barnard (Reading) and John Coxon (Southampton), all of whom continue in their posts.

Read more ...

Rishbeth Prizes 2017

Congratulations to Jade Reidy (University of Southampton) and Mervyn Freeman (British Antarctic Survey) for winning this year's Rishbeth prizes for their presentations at the National Astronomy Meeting at the University of Hull this July.

Read more ...

Nigel Wade

Nigel Wade
Nigel Wade - University of Leicester

It is with deep sadness that we have to inform the MIST community of the untimely death after a short illness of Nigel Wade who worked in the Radio and Space Plasma Physics (RSPP) group at Leicester for over 30 years.

Read more ...

New Members of MIST Council

After a hard-fought campaign by the five candidates, the results of the MIST Council elections are now in!

Read more ...

Call for nominations to MIST Council

The membership of MIST Council is staggered, such that each year at least one position becomes vacant each year. This year there is one post up for election. If you would like to stand for election, or would like to nominate someone else, then please email Rob Fear (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) by the 31st May.

If you wish to nominate someone else, please first check with them to ensure they are willing to stand.

The elected candidate will join Mike Hapgood, Emma Woodfield, Mario Bisi and Rob Fear, all of whom remain on MIST Council. If you would like more information about what membership of MIST Council entails, then please contact one of them.

The election timetable is as follows:

Friday 31st May - close of nominations
Monday 3rd June - polls open
Friday 28th June - polls close
Monday 1st July - result announced

RAS Prizes 2013

Congratulations to two members of the MIST community who have been awarded prizes by the Royal Astronomical Society.

Professor Steve Milan (University of Leicester) has been awarded the RAS Chapman Medal, which recognises investigations of outstanding merit in Solar Terrestrial Physics.

Professor Mike Hapgood (Rutherford Appleton Laboratory) has been awarded the RAS Service Award, which is to honour any individual who, through outstanding or exceptional work, has promoted, facilitated or encouraged the sciences of astronomy, geophysics, or solar-system sciences and developed their role in the life of the nation, often beyond the requirements of his or her paid position.

Further details on these awards can be found on the RAS web site.


The IAGA Newsletter for 2012 is available here . Also a date for your diaries: the IAGA meeting in 2013, "Living on a magnetic planet" is in Yucatan, Mexico, August 24th to 31st.