Magnetosphere, Ionosphere and Solar-Terrestrial

Latest news

MIST recognised in 2018 RAS awards

MIST Council would like to congratulate those who have been recognised for contributions to the field by the Royal Astronomical Society recently, but particularly we would like to congratulate those members of the MIST community who are to be honoured at the next National Astronomy Meeting.

Emma Bunce has won the Chapman Medal for outstanding contributions to the understanding of the magnetospheres of gas giants, Matt Taylor has won the Service Award for his exceptional work in co-ordinating and contributing to ESA's Rosetta mission, and Jim Wild has been awarded the James Dungey lectureship for his excellent and highly relevant work on substorms and reconnection in the magnetotail. We would also like to congratulate Kerri Donaldson Hanna for winning the Winton Award for planetary science.

MIST Council applauds each of the winners, alongside the other academics who will be recognised in Liverpool this spring!

More details are available at the RAS website.

New MIST councillors in 2017

Congratulations to Jasmine Sandhu and Jonny Rae, both at MSSL, who have been elected (and, in Jonny’s case, re-elected) to MIST Council. They join Ian McCrea (Chair - RAL), Sarah Badman (Lancaster), Luke Barnard (Reading) and John Coxon (Southampton), all of whom continue in their posts.

Read more ...

Rishbeth Prizes 2017

Congratulations to Jade Reidy (University of Southampton) and Mervyn Freeman (British Antarctic Survey) for winning this year's Rishbeth prizes for their presentations at the National Astronomy Meeting at the University of Hull this July.

Read more ...

Nigel Wade

Nigel Wade
Nigel Wade - University of Leicester

It is with deep sadness that we have to inform the MIST community of the untimely death after a short illness of Nigel Wade who worked in the Radio and Space Plasma Physics (RSPP) group at Leicester for over 30 years.

Read more ...

New Members of MIST Council

After a hard-fought campaign by the five candidates, the results of the MIST Council elections are now in!

Read more ...

MIST Council comments on Draft SSAP Roadmap

29 October 2012

We welcome the identification of a theme on "Solar Variability and its Impact on Us". This is very important given the growing awareness of the risks posed by space weather and potential links, as yet not understood, to long-term climate. However, we can only pursue this through a balanced programme that looks at the whole chain of physics that connects the core of the Sun to Earth’s lithosphere and all the many regions in between. The present draft is heavily biased towards the solar end. This needs to be rectified.

Read more: MIST Council comments on Draft SSAP Roadmap

STFC Solar System Advisory Panel Town Hall Meeting

STFC has reestablished the Solar System Advisory Panel, the terms of reference and membership of which are outlined here. The panel has been asked to provide input to the 2013 Programmatic Review. To gain an understanding of the Solar System Science research community's priorities there will be a town hall meeting at the RAS on Monday 10 September, starting at around 10:30. Further logistical details will be published in early September.

A strong turnout from the MIST community will help show we are active and have an important contribution to make to Solar System Science in the UK, so we encourage as many people as possible to attend.